Goals and tasks

According to its articles of association, the AdC’s core task is to support and promote the common interests of its member companies in matters relating to wage agreements and social policy.

On the basis of common interests within the industry and needs within the member companies, strategies and guidelines are formulated addressing collective bargaining policy. These are determined jointly with our negotiating partner and result in wage agreements and other contracts.

The AdC’s history shows how successful these strategies have been. The German cigarette industry has managed to secure a significant role in the global tobacco industry and has been able to expand on it. From marketing to industrial policy, from research and development to production standards – it’s German companies that set the standards. Two thirds of Germany’s production in cigarettes are exported throughout the world.

A significant part of this success is attributable to the very positive cooperation between employer and employee representatives and to the constant development and adaptation of collective wage agreements.

The AdC advises its members in all questions regarding employment and social law and represents them in fundamental issues.

The AdC represents the interests of the industry within the Federal Union of German Employer Associations (Bundesvereinigung der Deutschen Arbeitgeberverbände or BDA) and within the Employers’ Association for the Foodstuffs, Drinks and Tobacco Industries (Arbeitgebervereinigung der Ernährungs- und Genussmittelbranchen or ANG).

The AdC – together with the NGG union – is responsible for the training and further education of the works council members in the member companies.

Ziele und Aufgaben

Die Kernaufgabe des AdC ist laut Satzung die Wahrung und Förderung der gemeinsamen tarif- und sozialpolitischen Interessen der Mitgliedsfirmen.

Auf Basis gemeinsamer Interessen der Industrie und der Notwendigkeiten in den Mitgliedsunternehmen werden tarifpolitische Strategien und Leitlinien entwickelt. Diese werden mit dem Tarifpartner verhandelt und in Tarifverträge und Vereinbarungen umgesetzt.

Die Geschichte des AdC steht für eine erfolgreiche Umsetzung dieser Strategien. Die deutsche Cigarettenindustrie hat sich eine bedeutende Rolle in der weltweiten Tabakindustrie sichern und diese ausbauen können. Vom Marketing über die Industriepolitik, von Forschung und Entwicklung bis zu Produktionsstandards, die inländischen Firmen setzen Maßstäbe. Zwei Drittel der Inlandsproduktion an Cigaretten werden in alle Welt exportiert.

Zu diesem Erfolg haben eine optimale Zusammenarbeit der Vertreter von Arbeitgebern und Arbeit- nehmern und die stetige Fortentwicklung und Anpassung der Tarifwerke einen bedeutenden Beitrag geleistet.

Der AdC berät seine Mitglieder in allen Fragen des Arbeits- und Sozialrechts und vertritt sie in Grundsatzfragen.

Der AdC vertritt die Interessen der Branche bei der Bundesvereinigung der Deutschen Arbeitgeberverbände (BDA) und bei der Arbeitgebervereinigung der Ernährungs- und Genussmittelbranchen (ANG).

Der AdC ist – gemeinsam mit der Gewerkschaft NGG – für die Schulung und Ausbildung der Betriebsratsmitglieder in den angeschlossenen Unternehmen verantwortlich.