Focal issues

A focal issue of the AdC wage agreement policy has always been to secure the competitive advantage that Germany’s subgroups have. A wide range of measures have helped strengthen this advantage in recent years. The key issues here are flexibility and working costs.

Of equally high importance is the goal of presenting the cigarette industry as a preferred employer for high-performance, qualified employees. The industry has traditionally offered extremely attractive jobs. This applies to the climate in the industry, the wide variety of opportunities, and also to the level of pay. We lay the cornerstones of wage agreement policy so that many qualified people in future will continue to opt for a career in one of the member companies.

In order to discover sustainable and forward-looking solutions, a positive negotiating partnership based on trust is invaluable. Maintaining and developing this partnership requires constant effort. This goal is achieved with numerous activities, including those outside of collective bargaining rounds, such as cooperations with works councils in the companies, but also supporting and promoting training and further education of the works councils in the education centre of the NGG in Oberjosbach im Taunus.

Collective bargaining milestones achieved by the AdC since 1990:

1990–1992: German reunification boom with wage increases of 6.5/7.1/5.8%

1993 onwards: With annual wage increases of 2.9/2.0/3.1 and 2% the cigarette industry remains under the German average

1997: Working hours increase, one-off payments instead of wage increases

2001: Introduction of pension schemes anchored in collective bargaining agreements

2004: New employees start at 70%, adjusted over six years, free shifts are reduced

2006–2007: Wage increases of 2.5/2.3%

2008–2009: 4/2.8%

2010–2012: 2.8 (October: zero, 15 months)/2.5%

Schwerpunkte

Ein Schwerpunkt der Tarifpolitik des AdC ist von jeher die Sicherung der Wettbewerbsfähigkeit der inländischen Teilkonzerne. Sie wurde in den vergangenen Jahren durch vielfältige Maßnahmen gesteigert. Schlüsselbegriffe sind Flexibilität und Arbeitskosten.

Von gleich hoher Bedeutung ist das Ziel, die Cigarettenindustrie als bevorzugten Arbeitgeber für leistungsbereite und qualifizierte Arbeitnehmer zu positionieren. Die Industrie bietet traditionell äußerst attraktive Arbeitsplätze. Das gilt für das Klima in der Industrie, die vielfältigen Chancen, aber auch für das Vergütungsniveau. Wir setzen die tarifpolitischen Eckpunkte dafür, dass auch in Zukunft viele qualifizierte Menschen sich für eine Karriere bei einer der Mitgliedsfirmen entscheiden.

Um in diesem Spannungsfeld zügig zu tragfähigen und zukunftsorientierten Lösungen zu kommen, ist eine gute und vertrauensvolle Tarifpartnerschaft von hohem Wert. Sie zu erhalten und zu fördern erfordert stetige Anstrengung. Diesem Ziel dienen vielfältige Aktivitäten auch außerhalb der Tarifrunden, die Zusammenarbeit mit den Betriebsratsgremien in den Firmen, aber auch die Unterstützung und Förderung der Aus- und Weiterbildung der Betriebsräte im Bildungszentrum der NGG in Oberjosbach im Taunus.

Einige Meilensteine der Tarifpolitik des AdC seit 1990:

1990-1992: Wiedervereinigungsboom mit Lohnsteigerungen von 6,5/7,1/5,8%
Ab 1993: mit jährlichen Lohnsteigerungen von 2,9/2,0/3,1 und 2% bleibt die Cigarettenindustrie unter dem deutschen Durchschnitt
1997: Arbeitszeitverlängerung, Einmalzahlungen statt Tariferhöhung
2001: Einführung der tariflichen Altersversorgung
2004: Neue Mitarbeiter starten mit 70%, Anpassung über 6 Jahre, Schichtfreizeiten werden reduziert
2006-2007: Lohnsteigerungen von 2,5/2,3%
2008-2009: 4/2,8%
2010-2012: 2,8 (Okt. Null, 15 Monate)/2,5%